Leadership

The Apostle Peter on church leadership:

So I exhort the elders among you... shepherd the flock of God that is among you, exercising oversight... not domineering over those in your charge, but being examples to the flock. ... Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for 'God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble. –1 Peter 5:1-5

The image the Bible uses for leadership over the local church is one of humility and being subject to one another. It’s a model of leadership that involves exercising oversight, patiently guiding, and being an example, not seeking to be dominant or controlling.

Pastors

The word “pastor” means “shepherd.” Learn more about the Pastors who shepherd us.


Dr. Jim Johnston

Dr. Jim Johnston – Senior Pastor

jjohnston@camelbackbible.com | 602-955-6370, ext. 112


Ron Elwardt

Rev. Ron Elwardt  – Pastor of Discipleship

relwardt@camelbackbible.com | 602-955-6370, ext. 103


Julian Gibb

Rev. Julian Gibb – Pastor of Community

jgibb@camelbackbible.com | ext. 109


A.C. Caswell

A.C. Caswell – Pastor of Students and Missions

acaswell@camelbackbible.com | ext. 123


Luke Lusted

Dr. Luke Lusted – Pastor of Music and Administration

llusted@camelbackbible.com | ext. 124


Elders

An elder is someone whose faith is mature enough to guide others. Please feel free to contact us at elders@camelbackbible.com

Elder Selection Process

  • Church members submit elder nominations by December 15 of each year.
  • Elders determine nominees to be recommended to the congregation for review and consideration.
  • Church members provide feedback to the Elders regarding the nominees.
  • Elders review all congregational feedback and then by unanimous vote present new elders to be affirmed by the congregation at the Annual Meeting in May of each year.

Clay Conner

Dave Delnoce

Kirk Huizenga

John Milligan

Mark Ortman

Nate Perkins

J.R. Sloan



Pay careful attention to yourselves and to all the flock, in which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to care for the church of God, which he obtained with his own blood. –Acts 20:28